Tipps für Live Event Übertragung

2. Oct
Technical tips for live streams using “Teams Live Events” 3,2,1, Live!

Live broadcasts, once the preserve of TV companies, can now be arranged very easily with MS Teams. And you don’t even need complex studio technology to do this – a bit of practice and a good Internet connection are sufficient for putting on really cool events.

At Porsche Informatik, we have been using Microsoft Teams Live Events for some time and we are now making the technology available throughout the Group. In this way, all our colleagues will be able to hold transnational events, such as presentations or staff meetings, with very little effort but plenty of wow factor – and all at the lowest possible costs!

We would like to share our experiences with MS Teams Live Events to make your virtual meeting a success too.

What roles do Teams Live Events involve?

MS Teams Live Events allows for various roles. The organiser creates the live event, distributes all the roles and configures the options. Producers direct the action. They start the event itself and control the content. They can switch between speakers, videos and presentations. For large events, it is helpful for two producers to share the tasks and work to a precise director’s schedule. Holding a rehearsal before the live event has also proven to be worthwhile.

Presenters are the speakers who moderate the event. They are also able to share content, such as presentations or videos. Up to ten presenters can participate in a Teams Live Event.

The attendees are provided with a passive role. For question sessions, however, it is possible to activate the chat function. In total, up to 10,000 users can watch a Teams Live Event, and a recording can be made available to anyone who misses your event.

Liveübertragung MS Teams Liveevent Bildmischer

Go that extra mile: import external camera images via an image mixer. Teams Live Events opens up a world of opportunities!

Here are our technical tips

Audio and video quality:

  • Presenters should take part with either a headset or hands-free kit.
  • Avoid distracting background noise and “mute” all participants at the start of the live event. Presenters must then switch themselves back to “unmute” when they are up to talk.
  • Has a meeting room been fitted out with video equipment and made available to the presenters? Use the good audio and video quality of your existing systems! Simply invite the meeting room to the live event as an organiser, in the “Presenter” function.
  • Check the suitability of the room for the event for all presenters. Pay attention to details such as light, audio quality and camera angle. If the image background is unacceptable, the presenter can also display an individual Teams background image or use the blur filter.
  • A bit of variety makes broadcasts more interesting. This is why we use additional cameras for large events. The camera image is then simply fed into the Teams Live Event via a dongle.

Broadcast quality:

  • Check the Internet connection before the event and carry out a speed test for this. Restarting the router may also help.
  • Producers and presenters should work with LAN cables whenever possible. WiFi drop-outs can otherwise lead to transmission interruptions during the live event.

Since the Covid-19 crisis started, it has not been possible to hold any major events. As a practical alternative, we recommend online live streams using MS Teams Live Events. At Porsche Informatik, we supplement the tool with state-of-the-art Teams room systems based on Lenovo Hub and Logitech equipment. In addition, click share is fully integrated into the solution, allowing easy wireless content sharing.

Michaela Alker

has held a wide variety of posts in the Infrastructure division in her 15 years with us. She is currently responsible for Communication and Knowledge Management within the Infrastructure & Common Platforms department. Furthermore, she is supporting our company in a strategic realignment in her role as a Change Agent. She is also the spokesperson for the Change Agents.

Tipps für Live Event Übertragung

2. Okt
Technische Tipps für Livestreams mit „Teams Live Events“ 3,2,1, Live!

Live-Übertragungen, die früher nur TV-Anstalten vorbehalten waren, können mit MS Teams sehr einfach organisiert werden. Dafür braucht man aber keine komplexe Studiotechnik – für richtig coole Events reichen schon ein bisschen Übung und eine gute Internetanbindung.

Wir bei der Porsche Informatik haben schon seit längerem Microsoft Teams Live Events im Einsatz und stellen die Technik konzernweit zur Verfügung. So können alle unsere Kolleg*innen mit geringem Aufwand, aber viel Aha-Effekt länderübergreifende Veranstaltungen wie Präsentationen oder Mitarbeiterversammlungen durchführen – und das zu niedrigsten Kosten!

Unsere Erfahrungen mit MS Teams Live Events teilen wir gerne, damit auch Dein virtuelles Meeting zum Erfolg wird.

Welche Rollen gibt es bei Teams Live Events?

MS Teams Live Event ermöglicht unterschiedliche Rollen. Der Organizer erstellt das Live Event, verteilt alle Rollen und konfiguriert die Optionen. Produzenten lenken das Geschehen. Sie starten das Event an sich und steuern die Inhalte. Sie können zwischen Sprechern, Videos und Präsentationen hin- und herschalten. Bei großen Events ist es hilfreich, wenn sich zwei Produzenten die Aufgaben teilen und mit einem genauen Regieplan arbeiten.  Auch eine Generalprobe vor dem Live Event hat sich bei uns gut bewährt.

Referenten sind die Sprecher, die das Event moderieren. Sie können auch Inhalte teilen, z. B. Präsentationen oder Videos. Bis zu zehn Referenten können an einem Teams Live Event teilnehmen.

Für die Teilnehmer*innen ist eine passive Rolle vorgesehen. Für eine Fragesession ist es aber möglich, ihnen die Chatfunktion freizuschalten. Insgesamt können bis zu 10.000 User ein Teams Live Event ansehen. Für alle, die dein Event verpasst haben kannst du eine Aufzeichnung zur Verfügung stellen.

Liveübertragung MS Teams Liveevent Bildmischer

Fleißaufgabe: externe Kamerabilder über einen Bildmischer einspielen. Bei Teams Live Events ist einiges möglich!

Das sind unsere technischen Tipps:

Audio- und Videoqualität:

  • Referenten sollten entweder mit Headset oder Freisprecheinrichtung teilnehmen
  • Vermeide störende Nebengeräusche und schalte alle Teilnehmer zu Beginn des Live Events auf „stumm“. Referenten müssen sich dann bei ihrem Einsatz selbstständig wieder auf „laut“ schalten.
  • Steht den Referenten ein Besprechungsraum mit Videosystem zur Verfügung? Nutze die gute Audio- und Videoqualität der vorhandenen Systeme! Einfach als Organizer den Meetingraum zum Live Event einladen, in der Funktion „Referent“.
  • Überprüfe bei allen Referenten die Eignung der Räumlichkeit für das Event. Achte dabei auf Details wie Licht, Audioqualität und Kamerawinkel. Falls der Bildhintergrund inakzeptabel ist, kann der Referent auch ein individuelles Teams-Hintergrundbild einblenden oder den Weichzeichnerfilter benutzen.
  • Abwechslung macht die Übertragung interessanter. Bei großen Events verwenden wir deshalb zusätzliche Kameras. Das Kamerabild wird dann einfach über einen Dongle in das Teams Live Event eingespeist.

Übertragungsqualität:

  • Überprüfe noch vor dem Event die Internetanbindung. Mache dafür einen Speedtest. Eventuell hilft auch ein Neustart des Routers.
  • Produzenten und Referenten sollten nach Möglichkeit mit LAN-Kabel arbeiten. WLAN-Aussetzer können sonst zu Übertragungsunterbrechungen im Live Event führen.

Seit der Corona-Krise werden Großveranstaltungen nicht mehr abgehalten. Als praktische Alternative empfehlen wir online Livestreams mit MS Teams Live Events. In der Porsche Informatik ergänzen wir das Tool um modernste Teams Room Systeme auf Basis Lenovo Hub und Logitech Equipment. Zusätzlich ist Click Share vollständig in die Lösung integriert und ermöglicht so die einfache drahtlose Freigabe von Inhalten.

Michaela Alker

hatte in ihren 15 Jahren bei uns bereits die unterschiedlichsten Jobs im Bereich Infrastruktur inne. Derzeit ist sie für Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement im Bereich Infrastructure & Common Platforms zuständig. Außerdem begleitet sie unser Unternehmen in einer strategischen Neuausrichtung als Change Agent und ist auch Sprecherin der Change Agents.