9. Oct
DevOps at Porsche Informatik Development and operations overcome barriers

650 colleagues – that’s a lot of expert knowledge – and to ensure that all our teams and projects benefit from this know-how, we have established “Communities of Practice” for cross-functional exchange at Porsche Informatik. These allow our specialists to share their best practice and know-how and provide the entire organisation with important input as a result.

 The “Dev2Ops” community is one of currently four communities. Their avowed goal: to tear down the wall between development and operations. In recent years, it has been so successful that this year our colleagues there succeeded in bringing home our “Culture” Change Award for creating real cultural change within the company. We asked two of our Dev2Ops pioneers, Senior Software Architect Christian Köberl and Cloud Architect Günter Schulmeister, for an interview.

Christian, Günter, tell us about the wall between software development and infrastructure that you want to tear down?

Christian: In IT companies, there is often this invisible wall between development and operations: developers build software and throw it over the wall into operations. These two sides have traditionally worked with their own tools and processes and as a result, each “camp” developed its own culture. With the Dev2Ops CoP, we are working to tear down this wall.

Günter: Without a common culture and language, one side does not know what the other wants to say. Also, the two groups are geared toward different goals. Developers’ performance is often measured by how quickly new features are released, while the performance of operational staff is gauged in terms of how stable the application is. These two goals can either get in the way of each other or support each other, depending on whether people work with, or against, each other.

The Dev2Ops CoP also provides training programmes on the topics of Cloud, Docker, OpenShift and Infrastructure as a Code. What can colleagues learn?

Günter: ​​​​​​​The training courses help people to understand and use the new technology. They are also intended to help build a common understanding of the concept of the Cloud. The feedback on this so far has been consistently positive, with most of the colleagues involved feeling that the time was well invested.

The Dev2Ops core team with the newly won “Culture” Change Award. The award ceremony took place online this year, but this took nothing away from the enjoyment.

What would the ideal world of POI look like from DevOps’s point of view?

Christian: In an ideal DevOps world, the product teams would be able to develop, deploy and operate their software securely and independently. They would carry out changes to the infrastructure independently via APIs and associated user interfaces. Platform teams would provide these APIs and automatically check for baseline security. Enabling teams would support the product teams in terms of more complex topics such as continuous delivery, monitoring or security and both teams would provide documentation, training and a community to ensure that the product teams could work largely independently. Personal architecture reviews of the implementation would help to identify and fix technical “deficits”.

And what would you like to see happen to enable us to get there more quickly?

Christian: Currently, setting up a server I might need takes a relatively long time. As is the case with the public Cloud, I would also like an API and a user interface that I could use to independently set up a desired server.

Günter: In the case of traditional infrastructure services, we will continue to follow the well-trodden path. This is also a matter of focus – of where we want to focus our energy. But we are delivering the self-service mentioned by Christian with our Cloud platforms. What I would like to see is a large number of applications for our positions in the public Cloud environment. Unsolicited applications are also very welcome.

This year, you received the “Culture” Change Award for the work undertaken by your community. What does this award mean to you?

Günter: Winning the award was, of course, a fantastic confirming statement! But what was much more important to us was having a great stage for the idea behind DevOps.

Thank you for these insights and good luck with the further implementation of your work!

Autorenportrait Wolfgang
Wolfgang Brandner

Wolfgang Brandner studied computer science in Salzburg. He works as a developer for CROSS 2 and complements our social media team. His motto as a part time librarian is to “never leave home without a book”.

9. Okt
DevOps in der Porsche Informatik Entwicklung und Betrieb überwinden die Mauer

650 Kolleginnen und Kollegen – da bündelt sich ganz schön viel Expertenwissen. Damit möglichst alle unsere Teams und Projekte von diesem Wissen profitieren, haben wir in der Porsche Informatik „Communities of Practice“ für einen bereichsübergreifenden Austausch etabliert. Darin teilen unsere Spezialisten ihre Best Practices und ihr Know-how und geben damit der gesamten Organisation wichtige Inputs.

Die Community „Dev2Ops“ ist eine von derzeit vier Communities. Ihr erklärtes Ziel: Die Mauer zwischen Entwicklung und Betrieb niederzureißen. Damit war sie in den vergangenen Jahren so erfolgreich, dass die Kolleg*innen heuer unseren Change Award „Culture“ für einen echten Kulturwandel im Unternehmen nach Hause tragen konnte. Wir haben mit Senior Software Architect ​​​​​​Christian Köberl und Cloud-Architekt Günter Schulmeister zwei unserer Dev2Ops-Pioniere zum Interview gebeten. 

Christian, Günter, was hat es mit der Mauer zwischen Softwareentwicklung und Infrastruktur auf sich, die ihr einreißen wollt?

Christian: In IT-Unternehmen gibt es häufig diese unsichtbare Mauer zwischen Entwicklung und Operations: Entwickler bauen Software und werfen diese über die Mauer in den Betrieb. In der Vergangenheit haben bei uns diese beiden Seiten mit jeweils eigenen Tools und Prozessen gearbeitet. Dadurch entwickelte sich in jedem „Lager“ eine eigene Kultur. Mit der CoP Dev2Ops arbeiten wir daran, diese Mauer niederzureißen.

Günter: Ohne gemeinsame Kultur und Sprache weiß die eine Seite nicht, was die andere sagen will. Dazu kommt, dass beide Gruppen auf unterschiedliche Ziele ausgerichtet sind. Die Leistung der Entwickler wird oft daran gemessen, wie schnell neue Features veröffentlicht werden. Die Leistung der Operatoren wird hingegen daran gemessen, wie stabil die Applikation läuft. Diese beiden Ziele können einander in die Quere kommen oder gegenseitig unterstützen, je nachdem ob man miteinander oder gegeneinander arbeitet.

Die CoP Dev2Ops stellt auch Trainingsprogramme zu den Themen Cloud, Docker, Openshift und Infrastructure as a Code zur Verfügung. Was können die Kolleginnen und Kollegen da lernen?

Günter: ​​​​​​​Die Trainings helfen dabei, die neue Technologie zu verstehen und einzusetzen. Sie sollen auch helfen, ein gemeinsames Verständnis für den Begriff der Cloud aufzubauen. Das bisherige Feedback dazu war durchwegs positiv, die meisten Kolleg*innen hielten die Zeit für gut investiert.

Unser Dev2Ops-Kernteam mit dem frisch gewonnenen Change Award „Culture“. Die Preisverleihung fand heuer online statt, was der Freude aber keinen Abbruch tat.

Wie sieht aus DevOps-Sicht die ideale POI-Welt aus?

Christian: In einer idealen DevOps-Welt können die Produktteams sicher und eigenständig ihre Software entwickeln, deployen und betreiben. Sie führen Änderungen an der Infrastruktur über APIs und dazugehörige User-Interfaces selbständig durch. Platform Teams stellen diese APIs zur Verfügung und prüfen automatisiert, ob Basissicherheit gewährleistet ist. Enabling Teams unterstützen die Produktteams bei komplexeren Themen wie Continuous Delivery, Monitoring oder Security. Beide Teams stellen durch Dokumentation, Training und eine Community sicher, dass die Produktteams größtenteils eigenständig arbeiten können. Persönliche Architektur-Reviews der Umsetzung helfen, technische „Schulden“ zu erkennen und zu beheben.

Und was wünscht ihr euch, damit wir schneller dorthin kommen?

Christian: ​​​​​​​Derzeit dauert das Einrichten eines Servers, den ich benötige, noch relativ lange. Ich würde mir analog zur Public Cloud auch eine API und ein User-Interface wünschen, mit dem ich mir einen gewünschten Server selbständig  einrichten kann.

Günter: Bei den traditionellen Infrastruktur Services werden wir weiterhin den bekannten Weg gehen. Das ist auch eine Frage von Fokus – wohin wir unsere Energie ausrichten wollen. Den von Christan angesprochenen Self-Service stellen wir aber mit unseren Cloud-Plattformen bereit. Was ich mir wünsche sind zahlreiche Bewerbungen auf unsere Stellen im Public-Cloud-Umfeld. Auch Initiativbewerbungen sind herzlich bekommen.

Ihr habt für die Arbeit eurer Community heuer den Change Award „Culture“ bekommen. Was bedeutet dieser Preis für euch?

Günter: Den Award zu gewinnen war natürlich eine tolle Bestätigung! Viel wichtiger war es uns aber, dass wir dadurch eine große Bühne für die Idee von DevOps hatten.

Vielen Dank für eure Einblicke und viel Erfolg bei der weiteren Umsetzung!

Autorenportrait Wolfgang
Wolfgang Brandner

Wolfgang Brandner hat in Salzburg Informatik studiert und arbeitet bei uns sowohl in der Entwicklung von CROSS 2 als auch im Social-Media-Team. Als nebenberuflicher Bibliothekar lautet sein Motto „Never leave home without a book“.