3. Aug
Public cloud as innovation driver How we take our business analyses to a new level

Together with the Porsche Holding business divisions, we are growing business intelligence (BI) sky high.

Our parent company Porsche Holding Salzburg (PHS) is active in 29 countries on three continents in the wholesale, retail and financial services business divisions. With such a widespread corporate structure, it is essential to keep track of business figures.

The Porsche Holding departments work very independently. This decentralisation is what makes our organisation agile. However, it has also led to the fact that each department uses its own BI and reporting solution and that PHS has all leading BI systems in house.

The solution: BI reference architecture with Azure Services and Power BI

Carola Seyr, Team Leader from the Porsche Holding Finance division, approached our cloud specialist Günter Schulmeister with a request for a more powerful business intelligence solution. He recognised the project as an opportunity to use public cloud technologies in order to standardise the BI environments while maintaining the crucial autonomy of the business divisions.

At the beginning of 2020 we tested this idea for the first time as a proof of concept. Our goal was to connect the existing SAP system with Azure Data Factory Services, store financial data in an Azure SQL Database and access it with Power BI. Within a very short time, we were able to display financial data in Power BI. It was clear that we were on the right track.

The BI reference architecture for Porsche Holding Salzburg

Next we had to prepare the Finance Data Warehouse (DWH) infrastructure for productive use. To keep the reference architecture simple, we wanted as few moving parts as possible. Ideally this meant platform as a service without a complicated network.

Platform as a service (PaaS) has proven to be a turbocharger for the efficiency of Carola Seyr’s BI team. Properly configured, it relieves the team of many managerial tasks and security measures. And the entire environment can be defined using infrastructure as a code. The BI team can now create and update their data warehouse environment at any time at the touch of a button.

________________________

“For new development, we use Azure PaaS services. Properly configured, it improves security and makes it much easier to manage applications.”

Günter Schulmeister, Cloud Transformation Lead at Porsche Informatik

________________________

A practical everyday tool: Thanks to its front-end web technology, standardised Azure infrastructure and Microsoft 365 integration, every report is easy to use – on a PC, tablet or smartphone. “This is a greater advantage than I ever imagined,” says a pleased Carola Seyr. “All colleagues were thrilled that they no longer need additional client software or a separate password for BI analysis.” The BI specialists now perform many tasks on their own, whereas they previously needed the central IT. They can respond much faster to requirements.

The initiators of our BI solution for Porsche Holding: Günter Schulmeister and Carola Seyr

Self-service increases flexibility

In reporting, users can access and process the business figures themselves as needed. Dataset data models and the intuitive Power BI reporting make this possible.

We have also created the basis for the reference architecture of other areas of the company. The idea is that the reference architecture will make it easier for new BI projects to use Azure and standardise the environments. Gradually, all BI teams at PHS will use the same technology but not lose their independence. Power BI integrates end users, providing them with a uniform front end independent of the department.

________________________

“Our data model in Power BI gives us a single source of truth for financial data that we tap for all new reports. This reliable and consistent database allows us to create standardised management presentations at the push of a button.”

Carola Seyr, Head of Business Intelligence Center at the Digital Service Center of Porsche Holding Salzburg

________________________

Thanks to the DWH reference architecture and Power BI, the business divisions will be able to initiate migration projects that have integrated best practices without having to go through time-consuming preliminary decision rounds. Since we use infrastructure as code, we can tremendously accelerate the start of new projects.

Following the successful project with Carola’s Business Intelligence Center, the next project is the Retail department’s BI project. The Parts Distribution Centre and several PHS country organisations are also interested in the new solution. At the same time, we want to continue to develop the reference architecture. And Carola Seyr is expanding the user community.

The new BI services at Porsche Holding company have been well received. Thanks to the Azure environment, we no longer have any scaling concerns on the hardware side – our biggest scaling problem at the moment is our limited time. Carola Seyr, Günter Schulmeister and their colleagues can hardly keep up with the high demand. Our BI turbo is a much sought-after product.

Autorenportrait Bettina
Bettina Dobnig

After working in Vienna, Shanghai and Bangkok, Bettina has now found her way to Salzburg to explore the world of Porsche Informatik. Trained in radio, print and online journalism, she is searching for the most exciting stories behind those bits and bytes.

3. Aug
Public Cloud als Innovationstreiber Wie wir unsere Business-Analysen auf einen neuen Level heben

Gemeinsam mit den Geschäftsbereichen der Porsche Holding lassen wir die Business Intelligence (BI) in den Himmel wachsen.

Unser Mutterunternehmen Porsche Holding Salzburg (PHS) ist in 29 Ländern auf drei Kontinenten in den Geschäftsbereichen Großhandel, Einzelhandel und Finanzdienstleistungen tätig. Mit einer derart weit verzweigten Unternehmensstruktur ist der Überblick über die Geschäftszahlen ein essenziell wichtiges Thema.

Die Fachbereiche der Porsche Holding arbeiten sehr eigenständig. Dieser Dezentralität verdankt unsere Organisation ihre Agilität. Das hat aber auch dazu geführt, dass jeder Bereich seine eigene BI- und Reporting-Lösung einsetzt und wir in der PHS alle BI-Systeme von Rang und Namen im Haus haben.

Die Lösung: BI-Referenzarchitektur mit Azure Services und Power BI

Carola Seyr, Teamleiterin aus dem Porsche-Holding-Finanzbereich, kam mit dem Wunsch nach einer leistungsstärkeren Business-Intelligence-Lösung auf unseren Cloud-Spezialisten Günter Schulmeister zu. In dem Projekt erkannte er die Chance, die BI-Umgebungen mit Public-Cloud-Technologien zu vereinheitlichen, aber weiterhin die wichtige Eigenständigkeit der Geschäftsbereiche zu erhalten.

Anfang 2020 haben wir diese Idee erstmals als Proof of Concept erprobt. Unser Ziel war, das bestehende SAP-System mit Azure Data Factory Services anzubinden, Finanzdaten in einer Azure SQL-Datenbank abzulegen und mit Power BI darauf zuzugreifen. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit konnten wir so Finanzdaten in Power BI darstellen. Damit war klar, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg waren.

Die BI-Referenzarchitektur für die Porsche Holding Salzburg

Nun mussten wir die Infrastruktur des Finance Data Warehouse (DWH) auf den Produktiveinsatz vorbereiten. Um eine einfache Referenzarchitektur zu erhalten, wollten wir so wenig bewegliche Teile wie möglich. Das bedeutete idealerweise Platform as a Service ohne kompliziertes Netzwerk.

Platform as a Service (PaaS) hat sich sich als Turbo für die Effizienz von Carola Seyrs BI-Team erwiesen. Richtig konfiguriert nimmt es dem Team viele Betriebsführungsaufgaben und Sicherheitsmaßnahmen ab. Außerdem konnte dadurch die gesamte Umgebung mittels Infrastructure as a Code definiert werden. Das BI-Team kann nun die Umgebung ihres Data Warehouse jederzeit per Knopfdruck erstellen oder aktualisieren.

________________________

„Bei der Neuentwicklung setzen wir auf Azure PaaS-Services. Richtig konfiguriert verbessern wir dadurch die Sicherheit und erleichtern die Betriebsführung der Applikationen deutlich.“

Günter Schulmeister, Cloud Transformation Lead bei Porsche Informatik

________________________

Im Alltag nicht minder praktisch: Dank Webtechnik des Front-Ends, einheitlicher Azure-Infrastruktur und Integration in Microsoft 365 ist jeder Report auf dem PC ebenso einfach nutzbar wie auf einem Tablet oder Smartphone. „Das ist ein größerer Vorteil, als ich mir je gedacht hätte“, freut sich Carola Seyr. „Alle Kolleginnen und Kollegen waren begeistert, dass sie für die BI-Analysen keine zusätzliche Client-Software und kein separates Passwort mehr benötigen.“ Die BI-Spezialist:innen erledigen jetzt viele Aufgaben eigenständig, für die sie davor die zentrale IT benötigten. Dadurch können sie viel schneller auf Anforderungen reagieren.

Die beiden Initiatoren unserer BI-Lösung für die Porsche Holding: Günter Schulmeister und Carola Seyr

Self-Service erhöht die Flexibilität

Die Anwender:innen im Reporting können auf die benötigten Geschäftszahlen zugreifen und sie flexibel im Self-Service weiterverarbeiten. Datenmodelle in Form von Datasets und die intuitive Bedienung von Power BI machen es möglich.

Damit haben wir auch die Grundlage für die Referenzarchitektur anderer Unternehmensbereiche geschaffen. Die Idee dahinter: Mit der Referenzarchitektur erleichtern wir neuen BI-Projekten die Nutzung von Azure und standardisieren die Umgebungen. Dadurch nutzen allmählich alle BI-Teams der PHS die gleiche Technologie, verlieren aber nicht ihre Eigenständigkeit. Als Integrationsebene gegenüber den Endanwender:innen dient Power BI als einheitliches Front-End unabhängig vom Fachbereich.

________________________

„Mit unserem Datenmodell in Power BI haben wir eine Single Source of Truth für Finanzdaten, die wir für sämtliche neue Berichten anzapfen. Mit dieser verlässlichen und konsistenten Datenbasis können standardisierte Management-Präsentationen auf Knopfdruck erstellt werden.“

Carola Seyr, Leiterin Business Intelligence Center im Digital Service Center der Porsche Holding Salzburg

________________________

Dank der DWH-Referenzarchitektur und Power BI können die Geschäftsbereiche künftig Migrationsprojekte mit integrierten Best Practices anstoßen, ohne zeitraubende Vorentscheidungsrunden fahren zu müssen. Da wir Infrastruktur als Code nutzen, können wir den Start neuer Projekte enorm beschleunigen.

Nach dem Projekterfolg mit Carolas Business Intelligence Center steht als Nächstes das BI-Projekt der Abteilung Einzelhandel an. Gleichzeitig interessieren sich auch schon das Teilevertriebszentrum und einige PHS-Länderorganisationen für die neue Lösung. Parallel wollen wir die Referenzarchitektur weiterentwickeln. Und Carola Seyr baut die User-Community aus.

Die Akzeptanz der neuen BI-Angebote in der Holding ist hoch: Auf der Hardwareseite haben wir dank der Azure-Umgebung keine Skalierungssorgen mehr – das größte Skalierungsproblem ist derzeit unsere limitierte Zeit. Carola Seyr, Günter Schulmeister und ihre Kolleg:innen kommen angesichts der großen Nachfrage kaum nach. Unser BI-Turbo ist also ein heißbegehrtes Produkt.

Autorenportrait Bettina
Bettina Dobnig

Nach Stationen in Wien, Shanghai und Bangkok hat Bettina nun nach Salzburg gefunden, um hier die Welt der Porsche Informatik zu erforschen. Geschult in Radio, Print und Onlinejournalismus ist sie immer auf der Suche nach den spannendsten Geschichten hinter den Bits und Bytes.