4. Nov
MS Teams as a communication hub – the integration of traditional telephone communication Use of softphones at Porsche Informatik  

On behalf of Porsche Holding Salzburg, Porsche Informatik operates a Global Office 365 Tenant with around 30,000 users. As a next step in the move towards digital workplaces, all Porsche Informatik employees are currently being completely switched over to softphones integrated into Microsoft Teams.

Microsoft Teams is a communications program that covers all of our digital workplace requirements. In addition to allowing communication via chat and screen and application sharing, Microsoft Teams also provides extensive audio and video functionality.

One client for chats, meetings and telephone conversations

Thanks to Team’s softphone solution, we will only need a client for real-time communication in the future, i.e. chats, meetings and telephone conversations – with the great advantage of being simply accessible by means of PC client, mobile app or web browser via the Internet; rendering entry into the Virtual Private Network unnecessary.

We have now been using the “Direct Routing” feature for about a year and a half. To do this, a Session Border Controller (SBC) provided a connection between the traditional telephone system and the Microsoft Teams cloud. Our own telephone extension is integrated into the Microsoft Teams client; meaning that, in addition to “team-internal” voice calls, we can also dial any external number and be reached via our extension as usual for external callers.

MS Teams as a communication hub

In addition to numerous other phone features, Teams also has an intelligent voice mailbox: voice messages are recorded and e-mailed to the user as audio files. In the e-mail, “speech-to-text” is used to convert the voice message into readable text. Microsoft Teams recognises the language spoken by the caller and outputs the text correctly. All voicemail functions can, of course, also be accessed via Teams itself.

Further features of telephone communication via Teams:

  • The availability of participants is shown in the chat status (e.g. “on the phone” or “do not disturb”).
  • All calls are displayed in one place in the call history.
  • Extended options such as forwarding, call groups or parallel dialling can be set up by the users themselves.
  • For new employees, the solution can be configured fully automatically.

Our conclusion

Microsoft Teams already offers many options for replacing a traditional telephone system in a wide range of areas. However, as the functionality continues to grow, it is only a matter of time before further Porsche Holding telephone systems can be replaced.

Michaela Alker

has held a wide variety of posts in the Infrastructure division in her 15 years with us. She is currently responsible for Communication and Knowledge Management within the Infrastructure & Common Platforms department. Furthermore, she is supporting our company in a strategic realignment in her role as a Change Agent. She is also the spokesperson for the Change Agents.

4. Nov
MS Teams als Kommunikationshub – klassische Telefonie integriert Einsatz von Softphones in der Porsche Informatik  

Porsche Informatik betreibt für die Porsche Holding Salzburg einen Global-Office-365-Tenant mit rund 30.000 Anwender*innen. Als nächsten Schritt im Rahmen des digitalen Arbeitsplatzes werden derzeit alle Mitarbeiter*innen der Porsche Informatik vollständig auf in die in Microsoft Teams integrierten Softphones umgestellt.

Microsoft Teams ist ein Kommunikationsprogramm, das alle unsere Anforderungen an einen „Digital Workplace“ abdeckt. Neben der Kommunikation per Chat, Screen- und Application Sharing stellt Microsoft Teams auch umfangreiche Audio- bzw. Videofunktionalitäten bereit.

Ein Client für Chats, Meetings und Telefonie

Mit der Softphone-Lösung von Teams brauchen wir in Zukunft nur mehr einen Client für Echzeitkommunikation, also Chats, Meetings und Telefonie – mit dem großen Vorteil der Erreichbarkeit über PC-Client, Handy-App oder Webbrowser einfach übers Internet; der Einstieg ins Virtual Private Network ist dafür nicht nötig.

Seit etwa eineinhalb Jahren setzen wir auch das Feature „Direct Routing“ ein. Dafür wurde eine Verbindung zwischen der klassischen Telefonanlage und der Microsoft Teams Cloud über einen Session Border Controller (SBC) realisiert. Unsere eigene Telefondurchwahl wird in den Microsoft Teams Client integriert; somit können wir neben „Teams-internen“ Sprachanrufen auch jede externe Rufnummer anwählen und sind für externe Anrufer wie gewohnt per Durchwahl erreichbar.

MS Teams als Kommunikationshub: Neben Chat, Screen- und Application Sharing jetzt auch Telefonie

Neben zahlreichen anderen Telefonfunktionen bietet Teams auch eine intelligente Voicemailbox: Sprachnachrichten werden aufgezeichnet und per E-Mail als Audiodatei an den Benutzer geschickt. Im E-Mail wird die hinterlassene Sprachnachricht mit „Speech-to-Text“ in einen lesbaren Text umgewandelt. Microsoft Teams erkennt dabei, in welcher Sprache der Anrufer spricht und gibt den Text korrekt aus. Alle Voicemail-Funktionen können aber natürlich auch über Teams selbst abgerufen werden.

Weitere Features der Telefonie über Teams:

  • Die Erreichbarkeit von Gesprächsteilnehmern wird im Chat-Status angezeigt (z. B. „Am Telefon“ oder „Nicht stören“).
  • Alle Anrufe werden in der Call-History an einer Stelle angezeigt.
  • Erweiterte Möglichkeiten wie Weiterleitung, Rufgruppen oder paralleles Läuten können von den Anwender*innen selbst eingerichtet werden.
  • Für neu eintretende Mitarbeiter*innen kann die Lösung vollständig automatisiert konfiguriert werden.

Unser Fazit

Microsoft Teams bietet bereits jetzt viele Möglichkeiten, um eine klassische Telefonanlage in weiten Bereichen zu ersetzen. Nachdem die Funktionalität jedoch stetig wächst, ist es nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis hier weitere Telefonanlagen der Porsche Holding abgelöst werden können.

Michaela Alker

hatte in ihren 15 Jahren bei uns bereits die unterschiedlichsten Jobs im Bereich Infrastruktur inne. Derzeit ist sie für Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement im Bereich Infrastructure & Common Platforms zuständig. Außerdem begleitet sie unser Unternehmen in einer strategischen Neuausrichtung als Change Agent und ist auch Sprecherin der Change Agents.