Team conova

30. Jul
Computing together against coronavirus Computing power for COVID-19 research

Time for some good news regarding corona: Porsche Informatik is deploying its resources to support scientific research. 

As part of the folding@home project, companies and individuals around the world are making their computers’ unused computing power available to medical research. We accepted the invitation received from conova, the operator of our data centre in Salzburg, and have been dedicating computing capacity to this scientific project since the end of June.

Researchers are currently working intensively on developing a cure for the coronavirus. This means, not least in terms of IT, an extremely high use of resources. Our servers offer enormous computing power, but this is not used around the clock, so we are now donating these free resources to the Folding@home programme at Washington University to simulate the folding of proteins. The results of these simulations will help to visualise the structure of a virus as accurately as possible and to discover new drugs for diseases such as cancer, Alzheimer’s disease or, more recently, COVID-19. The large amounts of data are divided into individual work packages and distributed to the computing resources involved in the project.

The project translates rendered work units into points for every team

The project translates rendered work units into points for every team. Gamification at its best!

We have made about 1 THz of capacity available on our VMware platform. Around 350 CPU cores are currently providing up to 1,000 GHz to carry out calculations for folding@home. Since joining the campaign, we have calculated almost 12,000 work packages and thus contributed the highest computing capacity to team conova.

“This pandemic poses enormous challenges for our society and the economy,” comments our Managing Director Rainer Trischak. “We all wish for a return to a normal life. That’s why Porsche Informatik didn’t hesitate to support Covid research with computing power.”

We are proud to be part of such a great project!

 

Main photo: Team conova connecting to the scientific folding@home project. photo credit (c) conova / Marco Riebler

Barbara Klein
Barbara Klein

is responsible for communications and social media at Porsche Informatik. Even after two decades with the company, she enjoys learning something new every day.

Die Vertreter der Firmen und Institutionen im Folding@home-Team von conova: Rudolf Zrost, Vorstand Leube AG, Thomas Enthofer, IT-Leiter Caritas Salzburg, Oliver Suter, CSO und Vorstand Axess AG, Günther Rohrecker, Chief Sales Officer conova, Robert Pumsenberger, CEO conova, unser Geschäftsführer Rainer Trischak und Leonhard Schitter, Vorstandssprecher Salzburg AG. (c) conova / Marco Riebler

30. Jul
Gemeinsam rechnen gegen Corona Rechenleistung für die COVID-19-Forschung

Hier kommen die guten Corona-Nachrichten: Porsche Informatik unterstützt die Wissenschaft mit IT-Ressourcen

Im Projekt Folding@home stellen Unternehmen und Privatpersonen auf der ganzen Welt die ungenutzte Rechenleistung ihrer Computer der medizinischen Forschung zur Verfügung. Wir sind der Einladung von conova, dem Betreiber unseres Rechenzentrums in Salzburg, gefolgt und widmen diesem wissenschaftlichen Projekt seit Ende Juni ebenfalls Rechenkapazitäten.

Die Forschung arbeitet derzeit intensiv daran, ein Heilmittel gegen das Coronavirus zu entwickeln. Das bedeutet nicht zuletzt auf IT-Ebene einen extrem hohen Ressourceneinsatz. Unsere Server bieten enorme Rechenleistung, die aber nicht rund um die Uhr ausgeschöpft wird. Diese freien Ressourcen spenden wir nun dem Folding@home-Programm der Washington University, um damit die Faltung von Proteinen zu simulieren. Die Ergebnisse dieser Simulationen sollen dabei helfen, die Struktur eines Virus so genau wie möglich darzustellen und Medikamente gegen Krankheiten wie Krebs, Alzheimer oder eben aktuell Covid-19 zu finden. Die großen Datenmengen werden dabei in einzelne Arbeitspakete aufgeteilt und an die Rechenressourcen im Projekt verteilt.

Gamification pur: Für jede berechnete Work Unit erhält unser Team Punkte.

Auf unserer VMware-Plattform haben wir für dieses Projekt gleich 1 THz. Rechenkapazität zur Verfügung gestellt. Aktuell rechnen etwa 350 CPU-Kerne mit bis zu 1000 GHz für Folding@home. Seit Start der Aktion haben wir fast 12.000 Arbeitspakete berechnet; damit konnten wir im Team conova bisher die meiste Rechenkapazität beisteuern.

„Diese Pandemie stellt die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft vor enorme Herausforderungen“, kommentiert unser Geschäftsführer Rainer Trischak. „Wir alle wünschen uns die Rückkehr in ein normales Leben. Deshalb ist es keine Frage, dass auch Porsche Informatik die Covid-Forschung gerne mit Rechen-Power unterstützt.“

Wir sind stolz darauf, Teil einer so guten Sache zu sein!

 

Barbara Klein
Barbara Klein

ist in der Porsche Informatik für Kommunikation und Social Media verantwortlich. Sie freut sich, auch nach zwei Jahrzehnten in der Firma täglich etwas dazuzulernen.