telephone support Porsche Informatik

27. Feb
Hello, telephone support? Our telecommunications are going digital.

Here at Porsche Informatik, Tobias Oberascher and Gernot Striednig take care of everything to do with telephony. Both of them have been at the company for around ten years, during which time the area of telecommunications has changed dramatically. In this interview, they explain how this affects their tasks.

Gernot, Tobias, how would you describe your area of activity to outsiders?

Gernot: At Porsche Holding Salzburg and in the Parts Distribution Centre in Wals, we are responsible for consulting on, implementing and supporting telephone systems. For about two years now, we have also been taking care of cloud telephony. This means that, in the context of the digital workplace, we are now responsible in particular for Microsoft Teams as an element of the Microsoft Office 365 programmes. This programme offers a wide range of opportunities, which users can avail themselves of for chats and cooperation, as well as for making phone calls.

Tobias: As well as this, we are also in charge of the video conferencing systems and the technical equipping of the meeting rooms.

How has your daily work changed in the course of digitization and what might your work look like in the coming years?

Tobias: Within the last ten years, we have converted the entire world of telephony – that is, the wired medium – to Voice-over-IP. This has meant previously analogue methods being replaced by telephony over the network. This has brought great changes to what we do.

Above all, it has meant saving a lot of time as activities which had to be done on-site, can today be dealt with quickly and easily online. As a result, we are now able to concentrate more intensively on other tasks, such as, for example, on the further development of the digital features and opportunities.

Gernot: The general trend is towards softphones, that is, telephony using a computer programme, which will render the desk telephone obsolete in the near future.

Tobias: The elimination of hardware also brings advantages in terms of sustainability: by using the network and PCs, we are making use of resources that already exist in the workplace. Users do not require any additional hardware, meaning that materials are saved. More space on the desk is another positive side effect.

digitalisation of the telephone support at Porsche Informatik

The end is nigh for cable clutter!

To what extent do factors such as reliability and traditional backup still have a role to play in telecommunications if everything is backed up in the cloud in any case?

Gernot: The majority of our systems, which include central servers, line connections and exchange lines, are secured redundantly. Even if the users themselves can only see the phone, a not-to-be-underestimated number of servers exist in the background to enable the telephony.

These include, for example, servers that provide sounds, announcements and dial tones, servers for the status display or presence of the user, servers for voicemail, call centre solutions and switching centres. All of this makes you realise just how much infrastructure lies behind a system that pursues a supposedly simple goal, namely to enable users to make perfect phone calls. For this reason, all of the major servers are set up in duplicate. That said, it is likely that many components will be operated using a cloud service in the future.

Could this not lead to one being overdependent on external service providers?

Tobias: With many applications, we are currently still in the test or pilot phase. Our location in Vienna is currently functioning as a pilot operation for softphones as a pure cloud service. The experiences we gain from this will help us to take the right steps for other areas of Porsche Holding. Irrespective of this, call centre solutions or switching centres will always have special requirements that we are currently unable to meet in a cloud-based manner.

Do users have any particular difficulties in terms of this digital conversion process?

Tobias: Some do have problems with it. Users who have become accustomed to working with analogue technology over the course of many years, often need a certain amount of time to adapt to the digital working methods. Many activities and functions differ significantly from the existing telephony in terms of how they are used, which is why the cloud-based softphone telephony is currently only being piloted at Porsche Informatik. If we were to expand into other areas, the need for training and support would currently exceed our capacities.

Gernot: However, our experience with digitization has generally speaking been very positive, even if the possibilities are still somewhat limited in some cases. But the development is progressing, and what is not yet feasible today, might well work tomorrow.

Where do you think things are heading in the field of telecommunications?

Gernot: The biggest change will probably come when PHS no longer operates any physical telephone systems as more and more data will migrate to the cloud. In the future, we will provide telephony as a cloud service, which will offer users, if necessary, the ability to be accessible everywhere.

Tobias Oberascher and Gernot Striednig work for the telephone support

Our telephony experts, Tobias Oberascher and Gernot Striednig

Finally, one more question: What do you currently like best about your job?

Gernot: The development of telecommunications, the many possibilities and the constant changes have a certain charm, but are at the same time also very demanding and intense. You have to evolve constantly if you want to stay up-to-date.

Tobias: Also, the transition phase we currently find ourselves in – maintaining the old technologies, but at the same time deploying, operating and updating the new technologies – is our greatest challenge right now.

Gernot: That’s why we are pleased to soon be getting an apprentice who will certainly be able support us in a number of our activities.

Thank you for the very pleasant and interesting conversation. All the best for the future!

Cooperation and photos: Hannah Roider

Michaela Alker

has held a wide variety of posts in the Infrastructure division in her 15 years with us. She is currently responsible for Communication and Knowledge Management within the Infrastructure & Common Platforms department. Furthermore, she is supporting our company in a strategic realignment in her role as a Change Agent. She is also the spokesperson for the Change Agents.

Fotografin Hannah Roider

27. Feb
Hallo, Telefon-Support? Unsere Telekommunikation wird digital.

Tobias Oberascher und Gernot Striednig kümmern sich bei uns um alle Anliegen rund um die Telefonie. Beide sind seit rund 10 Jahren in der Porsche Informatik, der Bereich der Telekommunikation hat sich in diesem Zeitraum massiv gewandelt. Im Interview erklären sie, wie sich das auf ihre Aufgaben auswirkt.

Gernot, Tobias, wie würdet ihr euren Tätigkeitsbereich für Außenstehende beschreiben?

Gernot: Wir sind in der Porsche Holding Salzburg und im Teilevertriebszentrum in Wals für die Beratung, Umsetzung, Betreuung und den Support der Telefonanlagen zuständig. Seit zirka zwei Jahren kümmern wir uns darüber hinaus um die Cloud-Telefonie. Das bedeutet, dass wir nun im Rahmen des Digital Workplace insbesondere für Microsoft Teams als Element der Microsoft-Office-365-Programme verantwortlich sind. Dieses Programm bietet vielfältige Möglichkeiten, die User*innen können es sowohl für Chats und die Zusammenarbeit als auch zum Telefonieren verwenden.

Tobias: Außerdem gehört auch noch die Betreuung der Videokonferenzsysteme und die technische Ausstattung der Besprechungsräume zu unserem Aufgabenbereich.

Wie hat sich eure tägliche Arbeit im Zuge der Digitalisierung verändert und wie könnte eure Arbeit in den nächsten Jahren aussehen?

Tobias: Innerhalb der letzten zehn Jahre haben wir die gesamte Welt der Telefonie – sprich, das kabelgebundene Medium – auf Voice-over-IP umgestellt. Somit wurden zuvor analoge Methoden durch die Telefonie über das Netzwerk abgelöst. Das hat unser Aufgabengebiet sehr verändert.

Vor allem bedeutet es eine große Zeitersparnis, da Tätigkeiten, für die man früher vor Ort sein musste, heute schnell und unkompliziert online erledigt werden können. So können wir uns nun intensiver auf andere Aufgaben konzentrieren, wie zum Beispiel auf die Weiterentwicklung der digitalen Features und Möglichkeiten.

Gernot: Allgemein geht der Trend in Richtung Softphone, also Telefonie mithilfe eines Computerprogramms, wodurch das Tischtelefon in naher Zukunft obsolet sein wird.

Tobias: Der Wegfall der Hardware bringt auch Vorteile in punkto Nachhaltigkeit: Wir nutzen Netzwerk und PC, also Ressourcen, die bereits am Arbeitsplatz vorhanden sind. Die User*innen benötigen keine zusätzliche Hardware mehr, es wird also Material eingespart. Mehr Platz am Schreibtisch ist ein weiterer positiver Nebeneffekt.

Bald ist Schluss mit dem Kabelsalat!

Inwiefern spielen in der Telekommunikation Faktoren wie Ausfallsicherheit und das klassische Backup noch eine Rolle, wenn sowieso alles in der Cloud gesichert wird?

Gernot: Der Großteil unserer Systeme, zu denen zentrale Server, Leitungsanbindungen und Amtsleitungen zählen, ist redundant abgesichert. Auch wenn die Anwender*innen selbst nur das Telefon sehen, existiert im Hintergrund für die Telefonie eine nicht zu unterschätzende Menge an Servern.

Dazu gehören beispielsweise Server, die Töne, Ansagen und Freizeichen zur Verfügung stellen, Server für die Statusanzeige bzw. Präsenz der User*innen, Server für Voicemails,Callcenter-Lösungen, und Vermittlungszentralen. Das alles macht einem erst bewusst, wie viel Infrastruktur hinter einem System steckt, das ein vermeintlich simples Ziel verfolgt, nämlich den Anwender*innen das einwandfreie Telefonieren zu ermöglichen. Aus diesem Grund sind alle wichtigen Server doppelt angelegt. Vermutlich werden viele Komponenten aber in der Zukunft mittels Cloudservice betrieben werden.

Begibt man sich dadurch nicht zu sehr in die Abhängigkeit von externen Service-Providern?  

Tobias: Wir sind bei vielen Anwendungen derzeit noch in der Test- bzw. Pilotphase. Unser Standort in Wien fungiert gerade als Pilotbetrieb für Softphone als reines Cloudservice. Die Erfahrungen daraus werden uns helfen, die richtigen Schritte für andere Bereiche der Porsche Holding zu initiieren. Unabhängig davon werden Callcenter-Lösungen oder auch Vermittlungszentralen immer einen Sonderbedarf haben, den wir derzeit Cloud-basierend noch nicht abdecken können.

Gibt es besondere Schwierigkeiten auf Seiten der Anwender*innen in diesem digitalen Umstellungsprozess?

Tobias: Manche haben schon Probleme damit. Anwender*innen, die seit vielen Jahren gewohnt sind, analog zu arbeiten, brauchen oft eine gewisse Zeit, um sich an die digitalen Arbeitsmethoden anzupassen. Viele Tätigkeiten und Funktionen unterscheiden sich in ihrer Bedienung deutlich von der bestehenden Telefonie, weshalb die cloudbasierte Softphone-Telefonie derzeit nur in der Porsche Informatik pilotiert wird. Bei einer Ausweitung auf andere Bereiche würde der Bedarf an Schulungen und Supportunterstützung derzeit noch unsere Kapazitäten übersteigen.

Gernot: Grundsätzlich sind unsere Erfahrungen mit der Digitalisierung aber sehr positiv, auch wenn die Möglichkeiten teilweise noch etwas eingeschränkt sind. Aber die Entwicklung schreitet voran, und was heute noch nicht machbar ist, kann vielleicht schon morgen funktionieren.

Was denkt ihr, wo die Reise im Bereich der Telekommunikation hingehen wird?

Gernot: Der größte Wandel wird sein, dass wir in der PHS wohl keine physischen Telefonanlagen mehr betreiben werden, da immer mehr Daten in die Cloud wandern. Wir werden die Telefonie künftig als Cloudservice anbieten, wodurch die Anwender*innen den Vorteil haben, bei Bedarf überall erreichbar zu sein.

Unsere Telefonie-Experten Tobias Oberascher und Gernot Striednig

Zum Abschluss noch eine Frage: Was gefällt euch an eurem Job derzeit am besten?

Gernot: Die Entwicklung in der Telekommunikation, die vielen Möglichkeiten und die stetigen Änderungen haben einen gewissen Charme, sind aber zugleich auch sehr fordernd und intensiv. Man muss sich ständig weiterentwickeln, um up-to-date zu bleiben.

Tobias: Darüber hinaus ist die Übergangsphase, in der wir uns zurzeit befinden – die alten Technologien instand zu halten, aber gleichzeitig auch die neuen Technologien einzusetzen, zu betreiben und zu aktualisieren – derzeit unsere größte Herausforderung.

Gernot: Deshalb freut es uns, dass wir demnächst einen Lehrling bekommen, der uns bei einigen Tätigkeiten sicher unterstützen kann.

Herzlichen Dank für das sehr nette, interessante Gespräch. Alles Gute für die Zukunft!

Mitarbeit und Fotos: Hannah Roider

Michaela Alker

hatte in ihren 15 Jahren bei uns bereits die unterschiedlichsten Jobs im Bereich Infrastruktur inne. Derzeit ist sie für Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement im Bereich Infrastructure & Common Platforms zuständig. Außerdem begleitet sie unser Unternehmen in einer strategischen Neuausrichtung als Change Agent und ist auch Sprecherin der Change Agents.