20. Nov
Get it first! Pre-booking as a strategic building block for online sales

It might not be that long until ordering a car online will seem just as normal as buying clothes, books or music. There is a good way to go yet, but most car buyers already spend a good bit of time in cyberspace along the “customer journey” to their new car. One building block of Porsche Holding Salzburg’s online sales ecosystem, which we support with our applications, is the module for the online reservation of vehicles – and it was for this project that the development team received a Porsche Informatik “Change Award”!

The pre-booking module was first let loose for the market launch of the Volkswagen ID.3 electric vehicle. Being able to reserve online formed an important part of the marketing concept for this car. VW initiated a global project to set up a pre-booking landscape which would allow the first customers to secure their production slot for the ID.3 exclusively online.

In the autumn of 2018, our eCommerce & Stock Tools team began developing pre-booking for Porsche Holding Salzburg – and then implemented the project in close co-creation with the specialist department in a prize-worthy development time of just four months.

Pre-booking for the VW ID.3

The solution was launched simultaneously in both Austria and seven other Holding markets, and an allocation of 1000 “First Edition” vehicles was processed. Further campaigns followed, including some for other Group brands. To date, twelve campaigns in eight countries have already sold more than 2000 pre-booking slots priced between 500 and 2000 euros.

Increasing importance during the lockdown

The first Covid-19 lockdown this spring lent extra weight to pre-booking. With dealerships being closed, online sales gained in strategic importance and online campaigns were increased in all eight countries. This means that our solution was able to contribute to the relaxation of the market following the lockdown.

The modular architecture of the application allows our pre-booking solution to be used on other platforms. For example, over the course of the last few months, we have linked the checkout module to Immediately-Available New Cars on our brand and dealer websites, to our used car exchange, DasWeltAuto, and the promotion platform, TopDealsOnline.

Thanks to web tracking, data analysis and feedback tools, we are already gaining a good number of important insights into our customers’ online purchasing behaviour. This all means that we will have already taken the first important steps once the market starts to change even more swiftly and strongly in the direction of online transactions. These findings will serve as a guideline for the further development of our online sales ecosystem.

This year the pre-booking module received the Porsche Informatik “Change Award” in the “Time-to-Market” category

Barbara Klein
Barbara Klein

is responsible for communications and social media at Porsche Informatik. Even after two decades with the company, she enjoys learning something new every day.

20. Nov
Get it first! Prebooking als strategischer Baustein des Online-Vertriebs

Nicht mehr lange, und wir werden Autos so selbstverständlich online kaufen wie Kleidung, Bücher oder Musik. Noch ist es nicht ganz so weit, aber ein gutes Stück der „Customer Journey“ auf dem Weg zum neuen Fahrzeug legen die meisten Autokäufer*innen bereits heute digital zurück. Ein Baustein für das Online-Sales-Ökosystem der Porsche Holding Salzburg, das wir mit unseren Applikationen unterstützen, ist das Modul für die Online-Reservierung von Fahrzeugen – und für dieses Projekt erhielt das Entwicklerteam heuer einen Porsche Informatik „Change Award“!

Der Startschuss für die Entwicklung des Prebooking-Moduls fiel im Zuge der Markteinführung des Volkswagen-Elektromodells ID.3. Hier war die Online-Reservierung ein wichtiger Teil des Marketingkonzeptes. VW initiierte ein globales Projekt zum Aufbau einer Prebooking-Landschaft, mit der sich die ersten Kunden exklusiv online ihren Produktionsslot für den ID.3 sichern konnten.

Im Herbst 2018 begann unser eCommerce & Stock Tools-Team mit der Entwicklung von Prebooking für die Porsche Holding Salzburg – und hat das Projekt dann in enger Co-Creation mit dem Fachbereich unseres Auftraggebers (Group IT – Digital Business,  Porsche Konstruktionen) in einer preiswürdigen Entwicklungszeit von nur vier Monaten umgesetzt.

Das Prebooking für den VW ID.3

Die Lösung wurde gleichzeitig in Österreich und in sieben weiteren Holding-Märkten gestartet und hat ein Kontingent von 1000 „First Edition“-Fahrzeugen abgewickelt. Weitere Kampagnen, auch für andere Konzernmarken, folgten: Bis heute wurden mit 12 Kampagnen in acht Ländern bereits mehr als 2000 Prebookings zu Preisen zwischen 500 und 2.000 EUR verkauft.

Wachsende Bedeutung während des Lockdowns

Während des ersten Corona-Lockdowns heuer im Frühjahr bekam Prebooking zusätzliches Gewicht: Die Autohäuser waren geschlossen, dadurch gewann der Online-Verkauf an strategischer Bedeutung und in allen acht Ländern wurden vermehrt Online-Kampagnen geschaltet. Somit hat die Lösung zur Entspannung des Marktes nach dem Lockdown beigetragen.

Die modulare Architektur der Applikation erlaubt es, die Prebooking-Lösung auch auf anderen Plattformen einzusetzen. So haben wir das Checkout-Modul in den letzten Monaten an Sofort verfügbare Neuwagen auf den PHS-Marken- und Händler-Webseiten, an die Gebrauchtwagenbörse DasWeltAuto und die Aktionen-Plattform TopDealsOnline angebunden.

Durch Webtracking, Datenauswertungen und Feedback-Tools gewinnen wir bereits jetzt viele wichtige Erkenntnisse über das Online-Kaufverhalten unserer Kunden. So müssen wir nicht erst dann die ersten Gehversuche machen, wenn sich der Markt noch stärker und schneller in Richtung Onlineabschlüsse wandelt. Diese Erkenntnisse dienen als Leitschnur, um unser Online-Sales-Ökosystems weiterzuentwickeln.

Für das Prebooking-Modul gab es heuer den Porsche Informatik „Change Award“ in der Kategorie „Time-to-Market“

Barbara Klein
Barbara Klein

ist in der Porsche Informatik für Kommunikation und Social Media verantwortlich. Sie freut sich, auch nach zwei Jahrzehnten in der Firma täglich etwas dazuzulernen.